Today, the Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media, Catherine Martin announced the appointment of four Commissioners to Coimisiún na Meán/the  Media Commission. The Media Commission, which  is currently in the process of being established in accordance with the Online Safety and Media Regulation Act (OSMR), will act as the supervisory authority under the OSMR and as Ireland’s Digital Services Coordinator under the Digital Services Act (DSA) and will have the responsibility to implement and enforce the Digital Services Act, an EU Regulation, in Ireland.

The following individuals are being appointed as commissioners:

  • Jeremy Godfrey as Executive Chairperson – with responsibility for coordinating the functions of the Media Commision;
  • Niamh Hodnett as Online Safety Commissioner – with responsibility for overseeing the regulatory framework for online safety under OSMR;
  • Rónán Ó Domhnaill as Media Development Commissioner – with overall responsibility for the funding and development of the wider media sector and for the implementation of a number of the key recommendations of the Report of the Future of Media Commission; and
  • Celene Craig as Broadcasting Commissioner – with responsibility for overseeing current functions of the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland. 

Recruitment for the Commissioner for Digital Services, that will lead the digital services function within the Media Commission, has also commenced but no appointment has been announced as of yet.

For more information on this topic, please contact Andrea Lawler, Partner, Commercial & Technology, Caitríona Lavelle, Solicitor, Commercial & Technology or any member of A&L Goodbody’s Commercial & Technology team.